Funding and Research Support

Financial aid offered by the Department of Computer Science takes the form of teaching or research fellowships. Most doctoral students are supported by research fellowships, funded by research grants from the National Science Foundation, National Institute of Health, industry sponsors, and other organizations. Other doctoral students and some master’s students are supported on teaching fellowships, assisting student learning while pursuing their own studies. 

A small number of endowed awards and fellowships are available from the department, the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), and the university. Exceptional students are nominated and chosen for these awards each year. 

Sources of Financial Aid 

Students may also find financial aid through Grants and Scholarships outside the department, GE appointments in other departments, or other sources. It is the student's responsibility to locate and secure this type of support, but we offer links to a few resources here. 

Applying for a GE position 

Graduate Employee teaching appointments are competitive and may be applied for concurrent with or at any time after admission to the department. GE support provides a full tuition waiver and stipend. Duties usually involve teaching under the supervision of a faculty instructor, grading, and other course-related duties. Students who do not secure a CS GE appointment may want to look for GE positions in other areas of the university. 

Graduate Employee research appointments are made by faculty members with grant funding that allows support of students. GE research positions are usually located by students after arriving at the U of O and developing research interests and relationships with faculty. 

GE Application Form

Teaching Resources 

It can be challenging to stand in front of a class for the first time, especially if you've just arrived at graduate school yourself. The CS department prides itself on the quality of its graduate teachers, and to help ensure continued success, all new GEs are required to take the Division of Graduate Studies Mandatory GE Training. For those looking for additional assistance or further training, the Teaching Engagement Program (TEP) is a free service provided to all faculty and GEs. TEP offers training seminars, individualized consultations, classroom observation, and many other services. 

Teaching Engagement Program

Your Collective Bargaining Agreement (Contract) 

Your CBA (contract) spells out the obligations you have agreed to, as well as the protection you enjoy. If you don't know the answers to the following questions, consider skimming through your contract: 

  • What happens if you are ill and miss 6 weeks during a term? 
  • Do you automatically get health insurance during the summer? 
  • What are your rights if your supervisor reprimands you? 
  • Can you take a tuition waiver during the summer even if you are not teaching? 

Graduate students at the UO are represented by the GTFF, a union run by students. Each department has union stewards who can answer contract related questions. 

The Graduate Teaching Fellows Federation

Research Support 

Each doctoral student is assigned a faculty research advisor who guides and supports their research. A student may switch research advisors if they find another faculty member who is a better match for their interests. 

Master’s students have the option to complete a thesis as part of the degree program. Each thesis is supervised by a faculty mentor and represents an original research contribution. This option is strongly encouraged for students who wish to go on to doctoral study in the future. 

Graduate students engaged in research or supported by teaching fellowships are assigned offices in Deschutes Hall where they can do their work. 


Graduate Departmental Scholarships 

J. Donald Hubbard Family Scholarship in Computer Science 

Established in 2003 by the Hubbard family, this scholarship is awarded to a senior undergrad or a graduate student in Computer Science. Preference is given to students who show an interest in human-computer interaction, computer graphics, or multimedia. Secondary criteria are significant contributions of time and energy to the department through volunteer efforts. Academic ranking is also considered but is not the dominant factor in the determination of the scholarship recipient. Typically, awards are made for one year, but may be repeated for another year. This scholarship is awarded by the departmental scholarship committee. 

Previous Recipients

2023 - Ali Hassani (PhD)

2022 - Manish Mathai (PhD)

2021 - Zayd Hammoudeh (Phd)

2020 - Abhishek Yenpure (PhD)

2019 - Dewi Yokelson (PhD)

2018 - Roba Binyahib (PhD)

2017 - Manish Mathai (MS)

2016 - Daniel Ellsworth (MS)

2015 - Matthew Larsen (MS)

2013 - Adam Bates (PhD)

2012 - Yunfeng Zhang (PhD)

2011 - Megan Brittell (PhD)

2010 - Yunfeng Zhang (PhD)

2008 - Xiangkui Yao (PhD)

Erwin & Gertrude Juilfs Scholarship in Computer Science 

Established in 2000 by John Juilfs in memory of his parents, Erwin and Gertrude Juilfs. Awarded to students who show exceptional promise for achievement as evidence by GPA, originality of research or other applicable criteria. This scholarship is awarded by the departmental scholarship committee. 

Previous Recipients 

2023 - Nghia Trung Ngo (PhD)

2022 - Viet Lai (PhD)

2021 - Minh Nguyen (PhD)

2020 - Yongseok (Paul) Soh (PhD)

2019 - Matthew Hall (PhD)

2018 - Sam Mergendahl (PhD)

2017 - Sam Pollard (PhD)

2016 - Amnay Amimeur (MS), Kanika Sood (MS)

2016 - Amnay Amimeur (MS), Kanika Sood (MS)

2015 - David Ozog (PhD)

2014 - Paul Downen (MS)

2013 - Benjamin Mood (PhD)

2012 - Paul Downen (MS), Reza Motamedi (PhD),

2011 - Shangpu Jiang (PhD)

2010 - Toby Ehrenkranz (PhD)

2009 - Ghulam Memon (PhD)

2008 - Amir Hassan Rasti Ekbatani (PhD)

2006 - Nazanin Magharei (PhD)

Gurdeep Pall Graduate Student Fellowship 

Established in 2007 by Gurdeep Pall ('89, MS Computer Science), this scholarship is awarded for outstanding graduate students in the Department of Computer Science. Candidates are evaluated based on the overall quality of their academic work, their commitment to learning, and their potential for further academic achievement. This scholarship is awarded by the Head of the Department of Computer Science, subject to the oversight of the Dean of the College of Arts and Science.

Previous Recipients

2023 - Minh Nguyen (PhD), Dewi Yokelson (PhD)

2022 - Minh Nguyen (PhD), Zayd Hammoudeh (PhD)

2021 - Yongseok (Paul) Soh (PhD), Amir Veyseh (PhD)

2020 - Chris Misa (PhD), Wencong You (PhD)

2019 - Yebo Feng (PhD), Amir Veyseh (PhD)

2018 - Bahador Yegenah (PhD)

2017 - Andy Hampton (MS), Robert Lim (PhD)

2016 - Nicholas Chaimov (PhD), Robert Lim (PhD)

2015 - Paul Downen (PhD)

2014 - Reza Motamedi (PhD)

2013 - Amir (Pedram) Rooshenas (PhD)

Phillip Seeley Graduate Fellowship 

Established in 2017 by Phillip Seeley ('68, BS Mathematics). This fellowship was created to provide unrestricted support for graduate students in the computer science department, including but not limited to: scholarships, awards, tuition, research, materials, supplies, travel and wages.

Previous Recipients

2023 - Mana Atarod (MS), Abduaaraheem Elfandi (MS)

2022 - Chris Misa (PhD)

2021 - Lumin Shi (PhD)

2020 - Zhangxiang Hu (PhD)

2019 - Soheil Jamshidi (PhD)

2018 - Kristi Belcher (PhD)

2017 - Bahador Yeganeh (PhD), Philip Johnson-Freyd (PhD)